Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Camel Athletics Honors 87 Graduating Student Athletes at Senior Awards Luncheon

Camel Athletics Honors 87 Graduating Student Athletes at Senior Awards Luncheon

The Connecticut College Athletic program hosted its Senior Awards Luncheon during commencement weekend.

Fran Shields, the Katherine Wenk Christoffers '45 Director of Athletics and Physical Education served as the Master of Ceremonies.

More than 300 people packed the 1962 Room in the College Center at Crozier Williams to salute 87 senior student-athletes for their four years of accomplishment.

 Nine students were recognized with individual awards.
Tara Gabelman (Basketball) and Drew Majkut (Cross Country/Track & Field) were honored with the Brown Brooks Award.  
Established by the Class of 1984, the Brown/Brooks Award is given to the outsanding male and female student-athletes who best represent the graduating class in scholarship, leadership and sportsmanship. The award is named after its first recipients,

Tammy Brown '84 and Jim Brooks '84.

Kevin Reich, Kevin Kelly (Men's Hockey) along with Caitlin Cataldo were feted with the Andrew H. Chait Service Award.

The Chait Award was established in 1986 by Andrew H. Chait '82 to honor a member of the College community who has shown outstanding service.

Stephen Servideo, a power forward on the men's hockey team, was honored with the Erica. M. Bos '92 Award.

The Award was established in 1990 to honor an athlete whose courage, motivation, and relentless determination serve as an inspiration to others.

 Julia Pielock (Swimming), Sam Gill (Swmming) and Michael LeDuc (Cross Country/Track & Field) were honored with the prestigious Anita L. DeFrantz '74 Award.
This Award was established in 1995 by Kathryn Smith '84. It is given annually to the male and female members of the graduating class whose athletic ability, leadership and sportsmanship best exemplify the qualities of Olympic medalist Anita L. DeFrantz.
Shields recognized Connecticut College Head Men's Hockey Coach Jim Ward and Head Men's/Women's Swimming Coach Marc Benvenuti for both being honored by their peers as NESCAC Coaches of the Year.