Men's Cross Country Program Announces Season Ending Award Winners

Men's Cross Country Program Announces Season Ending Award Winners

WATERFORD, Conn.--The Connecticut College  Men's Cross Country team held their season ending banquet on December 4th at Filomena's restaurant in Waterford.

It was another successful season for the program that culminated with an 11th place finish at the New England Division III Championship, and which saw the team ranked as high as sixth in New England and 31st in the USTFCCCA national poll during the year.

Camel senior Co-captain Ben Bosworth of Dorchester, Mass. was named the team's Most Valuable Runner. Bosworth earned All-New England honors with his 15th place finish at the regional championship, and was named to the All-NESCAC Cross Country first team after placing sixth at the NESCAC Championship. Bosworth also received the Coach's Cup Award,  presented in honor of  Harry J. Butler, to a senior who has demonstrated excellence and commitment to the Cross Country program over four years.  In naming Bosworth as the recipient of this award, Connecticut College Coach Jim Butler said "Ben is the epitome of the qualities the Coach's Cup is intended to recognize. He has dedicated himself over four years to improving his running and his team by holding himself to very high standards and working as hard as he can to achieve his and our team's goals. He is a most deserving recipient of this award."

Senior Zander Mintz of East Windsor, N.J. was honored as the team's Most Improved Runner this fall. Senior Alejandro Hernandez of Miami, Fla., was named the team's Unsung Hero.

Rookie of the Year honors went to first year Danny Aschale of Cambridge, Mass. Aschale earned All-NESCAC honors with a ninth place finish at the conference championship, and All-New England honors by finishing in 34th place at the regional championship.

Five Camels were honored on the NESCAC All-Academic Team: Russ Adam (Cheshire, Conn.), Ben Bosworth, Zander Mintz, Ray Rich-Fiondella (North Haven, Conn.), and Connor Trapp (Wilmette, Ill.) To be eligible in 2016-17, student-athletes must have reached sophomore academic standing, be in good standing in their sport with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.40 or equivalent on a 4.0 scale. The team also honored Mintz as its honoree on the NESCAC All-Sportsmanship team.

"These student-athletes were extremely diligent in both the classroom and on the trails this past fall", Coach  Butler said. "They should be very proud of their individual and team accomplishments."