Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Eight Men’s Ice Hockey Student-Athletes Garner AHCA All-American Scholar Laurels

AHCA Men's Ice Hockey All-American Scholars

GLOUCESTER, Mass. – Eight members of the Connecticut College men's ice hockey team have been recognized as American Hockey Coaches Association (AHCA) All-American Scholars, as announced by the national organization.

Freshman Bryan Ackil (Southboro, Mass.), junior Dylan Chase (Riverwoods, Ill.), sophomore Jake Farabee (Cicero, N.Y.), senior Matt Gaetz (Mississauga, Ontario), senior Chris Jellison (Fitchburg, Mass.), freshman Ryan Petti (Tewksbury, Mass.), sophomore Connor Rodericks (Buzzards Bay, Mass.), and freshman Brett Stirling (Aurora, Ontario) all received the award, which is given to individuals who attained a 3.6 grade point average each semester and participated in 40 percent of their school's games during the 2017-18 season.

Furthermore, Rodericks joined Hamilton senior netminder Evan Buitenhuis as one of only two men's ice hockey student-athletes in the country to earn the distinction of being named an AHCA All-American, an AHCA All-American Scholar, and a Google Cloud Academic All-American by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) this past year.

Connecticut College recently completed a breakthrough season by ending the winter in second place in the NESCAC standings, which was its highest finish in program history. The Camels are slated to return more than 20 letterwinners next year, including Rodericks between the pipes and their top three scorers.