Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Marcucci and Murphy Headline NESCAC Postseason Award Winners in Men’s Soccer

Kenny Murphy AJ Marcucci

HADLEY, Mass. – Sophomore goalkeeper AJ Marcucci (West Chester, Pa.) and head coach Kenny Murphy headlined a list of five members of the Connecticut College men's soccer program who received All-NESCAC laurels. Marcucci was named the NESCAC Player of the Year, while Murphy picked up NESCAC Coach of the Year accolades.

Marcucci, who was also named the 2017 NESCAC Rookie of the Year, ranks among the top five goalkeepers in the country with a .937 save percentage and an 0.26 goals against average. He also recorded 10 clean sheets this season to bring his career total to 16 entering NCAA postseason play. In addition, Marcucci is the first player since 2000 to win the league's top rookie and player awards in consecutive seasons.

Murphy has piloted the team to a historic start and a 12-2-2 overall record in his 10th season on the sidelines. The Camels have only conceded four goals all season, which is tied for second nationally, and are making back-to-back NCAA Tournament appearances for the first time in program history. Furthermore, Murphy is the first Connecticut College coach to be honored since 2000.

Seniors Uzii Dieng (Brooklyn, N.Y.) and Ben Manoogian (Peabody, Mass.) as well as sophomore Liam Donelan (Milton, Mass.) all joined Marcucci on the All-NESCAC First Team. Dieng, a forward, ranks second on the team in scoring with 13 points on four goals and five assists, while Manoogian has contributed five points and most notably two game-winning goals against NESCAC opponents from the midfield position. Donelan, has significantly contributed to a back line which has only surrendered four goals in over 1,400 minutes this year.

Connecticut College will serve as a host site for the first and second rounds of the NCAA Tournament for the first time in school history and begin its next postseason quest when it entertains Thomas College on Saturday at 11:00 a.m.