Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Men’s Tennis Rebounds to Defeat McMurry, 7-2, in Lone Star State

Zachary Danz

ABILENE, Texas – Sophomore SangJin Song (Roslyn Heights, N.Y.) and freshman Julian Tien (Barrington, R.I.) won singles and doubles matches to lead the Connecticut College men's tennis team past McMurry, 7-2, on Sunday afternoon.

Song and Tien first paired up to take down Joseph Diaz and Chris Causer, 8-4, at No. 2 doubles. Tien then blanked Diaz in straight sets, 6-0 and 6-0, at No. 3 singles and Song knocked out Chase Daniell by marks of 6-2 and 6-4 from the No. 2 position.

Freshman Evan Goldsmith (Pennington, N.J.) and sophomore Zachary Danz (West Tisbury, Mass.) earned their first victory as doubles partners this spring by recording an 8-4 triumph at the No. 3 spot. Sophomores Henry DeCoster (Greenwich, Conn.) and Walter Komishane (Manchester, Mass.) as well as freshman Sean Jenkins (Davidson, N.C.) were also victorious in singles play to help the Camels cruise to win for the third time in four matches.

Connecticut College (3-2) will conclude competing in the Lone Star state when it faces Hardin-Simmons at 9:00 a.m. CST (10:00 a.m. EST) tomorrow morning and Howard Payne during the afternoon at 2:00 p.m. CST (3:00 p.m. EST).